Author Topic: Buying a bus to take to Florida or in Florida  (Read 10805 times)

Offline Povertyhill

Buying a bus to take to Florida or in Florida
« on: March 05, 2009, 05:47:48 AM »
Has anyone had experience with buying a bus either in Florida or from another State and taking it back to Florida to convert to a RV?

I am sure this has been brought up before but being a newbie I did not see much about it.

When I contacted the State of Florida they state I would need a CDL license because a bus is a bus until it is converted. I would also have to register it as a bus. If I bought it out of State I would have to get a temp tag from that State.

When I contacted another State(SC) where I at one point saw a bus I thought would be a good project I found they would let me get a temp tag but was only good in the State and the vehicle could not be taken out of the State and I would still have the CDL requirement as I hold a Florida drivers license.

I am sure others have been through this and I have seen where some people have just slapped a tag on a bus and driven it home but with my luck I don't think that would be a wise thing to do.

I had liked the idea of converting a bus since I got rid of my bounder some years ago and this is the first obstacle I see that I would have to find a way to work out. Anybody done this before me that can offer advice?
Thanks

Offline grantgoold

Re: Buying a bus to take to Florida or in Florida
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 05:53:30 AM »
I have heard many folks say "strip the interior of seats,place a porta potty, folding cot and a hot plate inside, get the bus inspected by the DMV and have them registered the new bus as an RV". Worked for me in CA.

Good luck!

Grant
Grant Goold
1984 MCI 9
Way in Over My Head!
Citrus Heights, California

Offline Povertyhill

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2009, 06:02:31 AM »
I had heard that was one possible way.