Author Topic: Beware of SETRA restocking fees!  (Read 2642 times)

Offline wayne

• 1990 Setra 215 HDH
  • www.mybusgarage.com
Beware of SETRA restocking fees!
« on: January 03, 2010, 10:32:08 PM »
I have been working on my Setra conversion for the last 8 years and buying parts from Setra in North Carolina which is where I also purchased my bus. When I purchased it I had them do a complete inspection and paid them an extra $11,000.00 to make it roadworthy for the trip home. I have never sent a part back until this December, I had ordered all new taillights and decided to go to a L.E.D set instead so I returned the set I purchased from Setra in the original unopened packaging. I recieved a credit on my account for the lights minus a 50% restocking fee ($107.00 on a $214.00 purchase). When I called and asked what the restocking fee was I was told "it is up to 20%" and they did not know why she (the girl in parts ) had done that to me but they would have her call me. I never recieved that call so I asked for the taillights back. No response on that either. Be careful when ordering from Setra, once they have your $ they obviously don't like giving it up even if you have been spending money with them for the past 8 years.

HighTechRedneck

Re: Beware of SETRA restocking fees!
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 04:26:55 AM »
Maybe Bryce (Busted Knuckle) can give you some pointers on getting them to do something about it.  They have several in their fleet and have had quite a bit of experience with the Setra people there in NC.

Offline johns4104s

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 04:54:34 AM »
That's very cheap compaired to MCI parts i.e. $30+ for a hub stud, $1400 for a air compressor. I dont know what they charge for restocking.

John

HighTechRedneck

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2010, 05:10:54 AM »