Author Topic: Torque Multiplier  (Read 5419 times)

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5278
  • 1965 MC-5a
Torque Multiplier
« on: October 09, 2010, 02:19:30 PM »
They are selling this for about $200.  Does anyone know if it's any good?

TRUCK LUG WRENCH TORQUE MULTIPLIER NO IMPACT OR COMPRESSOR NEEDED
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline Gary '79 5C

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 613
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2010, 02:36:24 PM »
Lin,
I dunno about the one shown, however I can vouch for the X12 torque mulitiplier. It does a great job, is compact and I believe safer than a 4' cheater bar.
Works for me, courtesy of PO so I can not advise on price, other than it lists for $650 or so.     http://times12.com/wrench.htm

Gary
Experience is something you get Just after you needed it....
Ocean City, NJ

Offline bevans6

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6058
  • 1980 MCI MC-5C
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2010, 02:50:21 PM »
Last time this came up, people who had them allowed as how the worked exactly as advertised.  Which is a pretty good recommendation, when you think about it.  Now, I don't have one but I do remember the conversation.

Brian
1980 MCI MC-5C, 8V-71T from a M-110 self propelled howitzer
Allison MT-647
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Offline busnut104

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2010, 04:23:10 PM »
I wounder how they would work on a dayton wheel. I doubt that it would fit with the dish. 

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5278
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2010, 05:22:38 PM »
My last bus had Dayton wheels.  They were not torqued down as much as these are.  If you need a multiplier, you could probably go with a straight multiplier ratchet.
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline Eagle Andy

  • Cowboy Coach
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
  • 1968 Silver Eagle # 7481
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2010, 06:19:01 PM »
That's awesome Lin Iam thinkin I need one of those
1968 Model 05 Eagle # 7481 Miles City MT

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5278
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2010, 06:30:48 PM »
I am considering it if I go for replacing those suspension bumpers.  Otherwise, since I won't have a really need for it right away, I will find myself loosening and tightening lug nuts just for fun.  I don't know that I want to sink to that level yet.
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline Ed Hackenbruch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2010, 07:51:04 PM »
Lin, that one that you posted the video of is the other one that i told you about. I did show you my X12 didn't I?
Used to own a 1968 MCI 5A with 8V71 and Allison MT644 transmission.

Offline Highway Yacht

  • *****Jimmy*****
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 505
  • Locust, North Carolina
    • WWW.MciBusTalk.Com
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2010, 08:00:50 PM »
If it works as advertised then it would be something worth having. Trouble is that so many items advertised do not work as promised or hold up very long. Maybe someone who actually has one will chime in.
1979 MC-9  8V71-Turbo / HT740             * www.MciBusTalk.com *
Locust, North Carolina                           A Site Dedicated To MCI's

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5278
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2010, 09:53:11 PM »
Ed,

I like that one you have, but $200. sounds better to me than $600.  If this works for the rare occasions I would use it, it could be good enough.
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline muddog16

  • Example is more powerful than reproach. ~Aesop
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506
    • Prevost LeMirage Conversion
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2010, 07:26:26 AM »
I purchased the one Lin pictured.........it works great!  At a 60 to 1 ratio 7.5 lbs in = 450 lbs out.  It sure beats jumping up and down on a 5' breaker bar and busting your shins.   This is so easy to use I'll have to hide it from the wife!
Pat

1982 Prevost LeMirage
8V92TA/HT754

http://prevostlemirage.blogspot.com/

Offline gus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3632
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2010, 08:47:33 PM »
I have one of those also, it is much heavier than it looked so it is pretty rugged.

I haven't found a nut yet I couldn't loosen with it.

Be careful about using it to install nuts though, you can really over torque with that thing. As I remember it can go up to 7000 lb-ft just with the included handle!!
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR

Offline JohnVickrey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • 1960 PD 4104-4541
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2010, 12:12:58 PM »
I have a TIA X12 and it works as advertised.  I have never needed it because I have a 4 ft pipe and a 4 way lug wrench ;D.  I will list it in the Spare Tire.  Take a look and PM me if you want it.
John Vickrey   -   Dearing, GA
About 2 hours East of ATL on I-20 and 4 miles south of I-20.
Got Electricity and Water for 4-5 coaches.  Less that a mile to a
dumpstation.  Stop by and sit a spell.

Offline gus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3632
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2010, 03:21:49 PM »
John,

A big advantage I found for the multiplier over the 4-way is I don't need the 4-way outboard support any more.
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR

Offline JohnVickrey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • 1960 PD 4104-4541
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2010, 05:03:00 PM »
Gus

I know.... old habits are hard to break.  If the nuts and the wrench are good, I can do it without the jack stand. 

On another note.... I don't know where Ashflat is but we are southbound through AR, starting tomorrow.  We are going through Branson and Little Rock and I don't remember the rest of the route because I'm not lookin at my Streets and Trips.  Are you anywhere near Little Rock??
John Vickrey   -   Dearing, GA
About 2 hours East of ATL on I-20 and 4 miles south of I-20.
Got Electricity and Water for 4-5 coaches.  Less that a mile to a
dumpstation.  Stop by and sit a spell.

Offline gus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3632
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2010, 04:53:59 PM »
John,

Ash Flat is on Hwy 167 just south of MO. It is quite a bit east of Hwy 65, the route you would normally take from Branson to LR.

From here it is about the same distance to either LR or Branson on a dog leg route.

I will be here until Fri and back on Monday. Let me know your plans.
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR

Offline JohnVickrey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • 1960 PD 4104-4541
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2010, 06:45:04 PM »
Gus, Sorry I have missed you.... we are in Mcghee south of Pine Bluff. 

Lin, My apologies for hi jacking your thread. 

John
John Vickrey   -   Dearing, GA
About 2 hours East of ATL on I-20 and 4 miles south of I-20.
Got Electricity and Water for 4-5 coaches.  Less that a mile to a
dumpstation.  Stop by and sit a spell.

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5278
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2010, 02:48:35 PM »
I bought one and it came today.  It works wonderfully if you turn it in the right direction.  I forgot the lug I tried it on first was left handed.  Fortunately I realized the error before I stripped the stud.  I will use 8# on a torque wrench to tighten up.  It would be very easy to go to far with this.
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline gus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3632
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2010, 03:57:41 PM »
Lin,

These things are designed for loosening nuts but they are not very accurate for torquing.  It is real easy to over torque with them. If it is like mine you can easily reach 1000 lb-ft.

You might want to check some of your torquing with a torque wrench just to make sure.
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5278
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2010, 04:16:01 PM »
Gus,

My torque wrench is really only good for up to 150 foot pounds.  I had thought that with a 60:1 rating, I could set the wrench to 8 ft/lbs and be within reason.  Do you think that this would not work?
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline bevans6

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6058
  • 1980 MCI MC-5C
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2010, 08:17:43 PM »
a torque wrench that is normally used to do up to 150 ft lbs is going to be horribly inaccurate at 8 ft lbs.  Each 1 lb error is going to be 60 ft lbs error after your multiplying by 60 times.  I would expect that your wrench, set for 8 ft lbs, will return somewhere between 5 and 10 and you'll never know which...   why not just use it to undo things, the way it's supposed to be used, and do the nuts up the old  fashioned way?  4 foot breaker bar and lean on it?

Brian
1980 MCI MC-5C, 8V-71T from a M-110 self propelled howitzer
Allison MT-647
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Offline zubzub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1212
  • '53 4104. Roadworthy but rough around the edges.
    • pics of my bus etc....
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #21 on: October 27, 2010, 08:46:18 AM »
a torque wrench that is normally used to do up to 150 ft lbs is going to be horribly inaccurate at 8 ft lbs.  Each 1 lb error is going to be 60 ft lbs error after your multiplying by 60 times.  I would expect that your wrench, set for 8 ft lbs, will return somewhere between 5 and 10 and you'll never know which...   why not just use it to undo things, the way it's supposed to be used, and do the nuts up the old  fashioned way?  4 foot breaker bar and lean on it?

Brian
This plus the fact that torque multipliers also have frictional loses (usually specified by the manufacturer) so you can add that to the mix and X it to your torque wrench's inaccuracies.

Offline gus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3632
Re: Torque Multiplier
« Reply #22 on: October 27, 2010, 01:28:02 PM »
Lin,

A 3/8 torque wrench in inch-lbs will be more accurate but I don't think that will help much as per the above posts.

You can use your 150 lb-ft torque wrench with an extension to bring it up to 450-500 by using a little math. All you're doing is extending the length of your wrench handle, kind of a cheater bar effect.
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR