Author Topic: problem solved.. deleate!  (Read 2599 times)

Offline demodriver

problem solved.. deleate!
« on: June 28, 2011, 12:44:13 PM »
OK so I am trying to use the electrical system out of a s&s. I wired it up (or I thought) like it was in the rv. When I plugged it in and turned the breakers on it hummed real loud for a few and once the ac tried to kick on it flipped the breakers.  

Can anyone tell me where to start to even look? I have no clue and as I stated Im not a electrician. I can fix anythign mechanical but electricity isnt my thing.

thanks
« Last Edit: June 28, 2011, 03:50:40 PM by demodriver »

Offline Len Silva

• Angle Parked in a Parallel Universe
    • Leonard Studio
Re: Well Im not a electrician..
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2011, 12:56:16 PM »
I am reasonably knowledgeable in electrical work but you have way too many unknowns for any remote troubleshooting.

We need to know a lot more about what you did and how it was done before venturing a guess.

Hand Made Gifts

Ignorance is only bliss to the ignorant.

Offline demodriver

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2011, 01:08:01 PM »
I gutted a older rv. I took all of the electrical out. I labelled it all and put it all back the way that it came out. On the 12 volt wiring I just taped off the wires for the time being. (no theres none touching eachother) I wired up all of the plug ins as they came out. Or so I think.  The electrical box has wiring coming out of it to plug into a generator (taped off), wiring for a 220 plug in (its where I am getting my power), and a 12 volt power supply from the rv (taped up). I can get pics of anything that will help.

I dont really know what other info is needed.

Offline luvrbus

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2011, 01:29:00 PM »
I don't think you find it was wired for 220v

good luck
Life is short drink the good wine first

Offline demodriver

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2011, 01:38:54 PM »
It had a 220 plug in coming directly out of the converter.