June 25, 2018, 03:49:59 AM

Author Topic: LP gas cooktop  (Read 4592 times)

Offline rip

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
LP gas cooktop
« on: June 27, 2012, 05:47:16 AM »
 I have a Kitchen Aid cooktop and would like to change the BTU's if possible. The manufacture states the burners are sealed and can't be changed.Has anyone tried this or is this even possible to get higher BTU's out of the burner.
    Don

Offline Geoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1459
    • Geoff & Sherry's RTS Conversion Pics
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 06:04:01 AM »
I have a black Kitchen-Aid 2-burner cooktop and it came with different size orifices so you could convert to use propane instead of natural gas.

--Geoff
Geoff
'82 RTS AZ

Offline Oonrahnjay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 06:57:29 AM »
  I have a black Kitchen-Aid 2-burner cooktop and it came with different size orifices so you could convert to use propane instead of natural gas.     --Geoff 

    If Rip is running propane to the cooktop with natural gas orifices, the jets should be changed anyway -- even if it doesn't increase temperature (although it almost certainly will).  Check what you have, Rip.  Make sure that the orifices are propane jets.
Bruce H; Wallace (near Wilmington) NC
1976 Daimler (British) Double-Decker Bus; 34' long

(New Email -- brucebearnc@ (theGoogle gmail place) .com)

Offline rip

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2012, 07:09:54 AM »
Yes they are are propane jets.I have been using this for years,I just want more btu's.It takes a long time for things to heat up.

Offline Oonrahnjay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2012, 08:08:01 AM »
  Yes they are are propane jets.I have been using this for years,I just want more btu's.It takes a long time for things to heat up. 

    OK, that means that they're safe; but it doesn't help you with the heat dilemma.  I've never heard of different jet orifices for different heats (doesn't mean that they don't exist but I expect that they're pretty rare).  I live in a little town -- I'm gonna guess that the nearest "natural gas" network is 100 miles away.  My local LP dealers also provide service for household and industrial gas and they're real knowledgeable about all the little details; have you checked with a local co. there?  (Or Kitchen Aid customer support?)
Bruce H; Wallace (near Wilmington) NC
1976 Daimler (British) Double-Decker Bus; 34' long

(New Email -- brucebearnc@ (theGoogle gmail place) .com)

Offline jjrbus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
  • MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL
Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

Offline bevans6

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5988
  • 1980 MCI MC-5C
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2012, 11:22:17 AM »
FWIW my propane/natural gas stove came with a kit to change to propane, and every burner got a different jet size, and has a different BTU output.  I wouldn't be changing things willy-nilly, they all have different burner sizes as well.  My other natural gas Kitchen-aide is indeed not a very hot burning cooktop...

Brian
1980 MCI MC-5C, 8V-71T from a M-110 self propelled howitzer
Spicer 8844 4 speed Zen meditation device
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Offline luvrbus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19436
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2012, 11:26:18 AM »
Turn the pressure up what altitude are you at ? most are set for sea level with .4 lbs of pressure plus propane is so nasty these days coming from aboard the jets may need cleaning sorry forgot the decimal  .4 lbs 

good luck
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 12:54:42 PM by luvrbus »
Life is short drink the good wine first

Offline TomC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8645
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2012, 11:29:36 AM »
Typically natural gas jets will be bigger then propane since natural gas has less BTU's.  Perhaps try the natural gas jets?  Good Luck, TomC
Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.

Offline Bill B /bus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2012, 12:20:01 PM »
Ah NO! 10" to 14" Water Column. Not 4 PSI

I always wondered how a story of dirty this or fouled that got started. Do you really think that the pipeline operators would accept "dirty" gas for pumping? No. Operating costs for filters and pump repair would negate the pumping fee.

Bill
Bill & Lynn
MCI102A3, Series 50 w/HT740

Offline luvrbus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19436
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2012, 12:37:45 PM »
LOL why do think they pig those lines every so often every compressor station or pumping station has pig launchers at Tennessee Gas we used a brush pig followed by a rubber pig then the poly pig if that didn't work we would sand blast that section it may have been a 50 miles long section   

It was a simple process to sand blast a section of pipe on the inside
Life is short drink the good wine first

Offline Bill B /bus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2012, 04:08:19 PM »
Yeah they do run pigs frequently. :D However, pump repairs are expensive downtime and to be avoided at all costs :(.
In any pipeline the flow velocity is key to deposition on the pipe walls. Slower flow and the deposition rate increases as a log function of the change is velocity. Remember the flow at the boundary layer next to the pipe wall is close to zero. Turbulent flow is desired to lessen dropout but laminar flow requires less pumping power but increases dropout. Hence the balancing act of flow velocity versus how many times pigging.

Bill
Bill & Lynn
MCI102A3, Series 50 w/HT740

Offline garhawk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2012, 06:21:40 AM »
Hi Rip,

If you have the manufacturer's proper sized orifice installed for the type fuel you are using, then you should be properly set.  Your problem is most probably height; i.e., the tip of the flame should only just nip at the surface you are attempting to heat (bottom of your pan).
gary t'berry
Eagle Mod 20 DD ser 60 w/slide
GMC RTS 102"  40er (in progress)

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5249
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2012, 11:05:06 AM »
I also find that our propane cooktop is not as hot as we'd like it.  I never looked to see if there was a way to adjust the flame height though.  Since the furnace works fine, I might be hesitant to do something that effects the whole system.
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline Eagle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • 1985 Eagle
Re: LP gas cooktop
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2012, 11:38:41 AM »
The diameter of the burner determines the BTU output of the burner not the orifice size.