June 24, 2018, 12:45:37 PM

Author Topic: 8d Batteries  (Read 9981 times)

Offline Slow Rider

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 670
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #15 on: January 01, 2013, 07:04:54 AM »
As long as we are throwing numbers around, will four 4d's fit where the two 8D's fit originally on an MCI?

Frank
The MCI has landed..... We are home.
Dale City Va.  Just a southern suburb of DC
Yes I am a BUSNUT
1976 MCI MC8

Offline Stormcloud

  • FMCA#407220
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2013, 07:25:47 AM »
I put four Group 27 in my MCI-7 in February. Purchased at WallyMart, they have no trouble starting the 8V71. Also, they have the best warranty and really dont care what the battery was installed in..
Now shopping for some deep-cycle batteries in/around Quartzsite.

Mark Morgan  
1972 MCI-7 'Papabus'
8v71N MT654 Automatic
 Brandon, Manitoba, Canada in summer
 somewhere around Yuma, Arizona in winter

Offline TomC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8644
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2013, 07:26:10 AM »
8D- 20.76 x 10.89w x 8.64h 156lbs 255amp/hrs
4D- 20.76 x  8.70w x  8.64h 124lbs 210amp/hrs

You see the 4D is narrower then the 8D, but length and height is the same. Fitting two 8D's you have a width total of 21.78". Fitting 3 4D's would be 26.1" or 4.32" wider then two 8D's. The 8D's put out 255 amp/hrs (Lifeline AGM's) and the 4D's put out 210 amp/hrs. Two 8D's will give you 510 amp/hrs total and 3 4D's will give you 630 amp/hrs total or 120 more amp/hrs.

I'm going to use the 6V L16 battery that is 11.64" x 6.95w x 15.73h is 119lbs ea and has 400amp/hrs. Using 4 will give 800amp/hrs at 12v. What is interesting is the foot print comparison between the 2 8D's (452sq/in) to 4 L16's (324sq/in). The L16's will take less floor space, but are 7.1" taller. But-just remember that with an AGM battery you can use them in any position (except upside down) that you want. I have a truck driver friend that has his laid down in his side compartment and they are happily running with no problems. Good luck, TomC
Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.

Offline gus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2013, 12:07:53 PM »
Frank,

You won't need but two 4Ds in VA. If you lived somewhere in the frozen northern wasteland you might need 8Ds!!

I made this switch over a year ago with no problems.

Cheaper and lighter!
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5249
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #19 on: January 01, 2013, 01:30:55 PM »
Yeah Gus, they're 30 pounds lighter.  You probably carry one in each hand.
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline Barn Owl

  • Roanoke, VA
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2080
  • PD4106-1063 "Wheezy Bus"
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #20 on: January 01, 2013, 04:05:31 PM »
I don't like the weight of 8D batteries either. When I went to replace mine with a bank of 31s I priced the battery cables and decided to stay with the 8D setup, it was less expensive for me. I already had new cables made for the 8Ds thinking I had too much resistance in the old ones. It was disappointing to find out I really needed to buy batteries. Copper has gotten expensive! If the 4D batteries would work and you don't need to re-cable then that could be a good choice.
L. Christley - W3EYE Amateur Extra
Blue Ridge Mountains, S.W. Virginia
It’s the education gained, and the ability to apply, and share, what we learn.
Have fun, be great, that way you have Great Fun!

Offline Lin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5249
  • 1965 MC-5a
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #21 on: January 01, 2013, 05:54:00 PM »
I can't see how 4D's would need different cables.  The stud setup is the same as an 8D. 
You don't have to believe everything you think.

Offline Barn Owl

  • Roanoke, VA
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2080
  • PD4106-1063 "Wheezy Bus"
Re: 8d Batteries
« Reply #22 on: January 01, 2013, 07:46:06 PM »
Quote
I can't see how 4D's would need different cables.  The stud setup is the same as an 8D. 

Exactly right.
L. Christley - W3EYE Amateur Extra
Blue Ridge Mountains, S.W. Virginia
It’s the education gained, and the ability to apply, and share, what we learn.
Have fun, be great, that way you have Great Fun!