Author Topic: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter  (Read 5064 times)

Offline tomhamrick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« on: January 18, 2014, 10:06:03 AM »
I am going to have to replace the Racor 1000 FGP filter for the 8V92 TA. I noticed when I put a service kit in a couple of years ago that one of the bolts holding the bottom bowl would not tighten but it only had an small leak. I kept a small oil change pan underneath and it would just drip a small amount. Well today the pan was full an almost running over so it is time for a replacement. It looks like the replacement is a 1000 FH and I am not sure if that is currently manufactured or if it is outdated as well. Unless there is a better alternative it will be a simple replacement with the FH model.

Thanks for any information.
Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC

Offline luvrbus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19760
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2014, 06:17:39 AM »
Why not just use the Lock n Stitch or a Heli Coil on the stripped threads ? there are very few FGP that it hasn't been done to
Life is short drink the good wine first

Offline TomC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8677
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2014, 08:19:24 AM »
I would replace it with a Davco Fuel Pro 382. Davco's look like the fuel filter is upside down with the clear bowl on top of the filter. This gives visual confirmation of when NOT to change the filter. As the filter gets dirty, the bowl fills with fuel. When the fuel gets up to the change line on the bowl, you know it is exactly the time to change. With any other filter you're either changing the filter to often, or waiting till you loose power (usually at a not so good time) to know to change the filter. Good Luck, TomC
Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.

Offline dukegrad98

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2014, 05:24:56 PM »
I've bought fuel filters and replacement elements from these folks for years, always with great satisfaction.  They carry a lot of Racor stuff, which is most of what I use.  Might be worth a call to see if they can hook you up.

http://www.marinefilters.com/

Cheers, John

Offline tomhamrick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2014, 04:14:01 AM »
Thanks for the replies. I will do the repair as a temporary measure but replace the filter for the long term.
Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC

Offline tomhamrick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2014, 04:51:34 AM »
Looking at the documentation for the Davco, it says "The Fuel Pro MUST be installed so the the Filter Element is above the "FULL" level of the fuel tank."  I don't think I can do that and still have room to service the Davco.  How have those that have this filter handled that or others tanks not as tall?

Thanks
Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC

Offline luvrbus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19760
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2014, 05:24:13 AM »
There is nothing wrong with the Racor system Tom why change that is the most widely used system in the marine world and has been for years

good luck
Life is short drink the good wine first

Offline tomhamrick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2014, 06:40:44 AM »
I suppose I liked the convenience of seeing what the filter is actually doing and as Tom says not wasting filters. But in my situation looks like it is best to stick with what I have.

Thanks again!!
Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC

Offline TomC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8677
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2014, 08:49:14 AM »
You're right, Clifford. It's just that the Davco's design lets you know when exactly to change the filter by visual. We're putting the 482-custom designed for the DD engines on just about every truck. With the Davco, the engine fuel filter is changed only at 100,000mi-but the Davco may be changed several times in that 100,000mi. Good Luck, TomC
Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.

Offline Low Class

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2014, 11:09:05 AM »
Install a vacuum gauge on the outlet (suction) side of the racor.  Also, there is one made that goes in place of the screw that holds the cover on the racor.
Jim Keefauver/1985 Wanderlodge PT36/6V92TA/MT654CR/East Tn.

Offline tomhamrick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2014, 04:28:07 AM »
Thanks for the info.
Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC

Offline luvrbus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19760
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2014, 05:38:14 AM »
They have a indicator gauge for the Racor I have a couple somewhere in all this cluster I have, if I ever find one I'll send it to you
Life is short drink the good wine first

Offline tomhamrick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Replacing RACOR 1000 FGp filter
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2014, 04:16:34 AM »
Thanks Clifford. You should have my address from the Eagle's Roster.
Let me know what shipping will be. My cell should be on the Eagle's roster as well.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 04:27:03 AM by tomhamrick »
Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC