Author Topic: I know… I know... I am a rookie  (Read 8145 times)

Offline RickB

• 81 MCI 9 smooth side 8V71 Allison 754
I know… I know... I am a rookie
« on: August 28, 2014, 04:43:06 PM »
Ran Prince's bus out of fuel in front of my house. There's a slight chance that I have an algae problem but I thought that I had plenty of time to get it refueled.

So two questions, there are fuel tanks on both sides of the bus and I have no idea if they both run the engine or if one is for the genset. Any clarity out there for me?

Also, is the series 60 any different to re prime? Take off the filter, fill it and start cranking or is there a built in pump on these things for repriming?

94 Prevost Marathon. Be gentle guys I know it was a rookie move.

Rick
I will drive my Detroit hard... I will drive my Detroit hard.

Offline belfert

Re: I know… I know... I am a rookie
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2014, 04:47:35 PM »
The primary filter on my Series 60 is a Racor with a built-in priming button.  When I ran out of fuel I refilled the secondary filter and then had my friend prime with the button while I cranked from the rear start switch.  It started up fairly easily.  My friend did have to keep pumping for 15 to 30 seconds to keep it running smooth until the air purged itself out.
Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN

Offline robertglines1

• steam nut
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2014, 04:55:11 PM »
one tank for both on my 98 XLE 250 gal capacity fills from both sides.  5 Gal not going to budge it. Good luck.  Bob  PS. gen intake is set higher in tank so you still have engine fuel supply when you get low.  Unless someone switched hoses.
Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana

Offline gumpy

• Some Assembly Required
  • Slightly modified 1982 MC9
    • bus.gumpydog.com
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2014, 05:12:39 PM »