Author Topic: King cruise control  (Read 441 times)

Offline chessie4905

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
King cruise control
« on: May 24, 2018, 01:17:58 PM »
I have a King cruise control I want to install on my 4905 shortly. It picks up speed signal at speedometer output on transmission. Has anyone used this model with a signal from a front wheel sensor? If not, can you share signal from electric speedometer it has? The speedometer is a Dixson.
Thanks
GMC h8h 649#028 (4905)
Pennsylvania-central

Offline kyle4501

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • NEWELL in South Carolina
Re: King cruise control
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2018, 04:12:02 PM »
When I installed mine, I called their support. The guy that I talked to was very knowledgeable -- hence VERY helpful !!!

Just call & ask, he will provide the information you need.
Life is all about finding people who are your kind of crazy

Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please (Mark Twain)

Education costs money.  But then so does ignorance. (Sir Claus Moser)

Offline TomC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8657
Re: King cruise control
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2018, 06:20:24 PM »
When I added King Cruise to my V730, King makes a speedo generator that mounts inline with the existing speedo generator on the transmission (but if you have a front wheel sensor, then this is moot). I also have an air accelerator, hence to keep the transmission throttle position sensor working correctly (it also works off the air pressure from the accelerator), I made an extension plate to the gas pedal and the King cruise pulls down on the gas pedal. The actual unit is on the passenger side of the dash with the pull cable looping under floor up to the gas pedal. One other thing I had to do, since I have LED lights in the rear, the King cruise didn't recognize the brake lights since LED's draw such little power, hence I had to install a 100ohm resistor to the ground on the brake light wire-then all worked correctly. I have had King cruise now for 16 years with no problems. Good Luck, TomC
Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.

Offline chessie4905

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
Re: King cruise control
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2018, 06:47:44 PM »
thanks Tom, found some forum conversations. one said to tap off speedo wires and thatll do it. if that doesnt work, cruise king ad says they can supply a passthrough speedometer drive unit. id like to keep everything up front.
GMC h8h 649#028 (4905)
Pennsylvania-central

Offline TomC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8657
Re: King cruise control
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2018, 12:25:30 PM »
Yes keeping everything up front is better. When I built my bus I added 5 3wire extension cords of different colors from the engine compartment to the driver's compartment, so adding the pass through speedo drive wasn't a big deal. Good Luck, TomC
Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.

Offline chessie4905

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
Re: King cruise control
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2018, 03:26:15 PM »
I just did the same thing over the winter. Dropped all the panels in the bays, added extra wires, and dot. lines for onboard leveling system. I'll try tapping at speedo first.
GMC h8h 649#028 (4905)
Pennsylvania-central

Offline chessie4905

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
Re: King cruise control
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2018, 05:32:49 PM »
Tom, do you use a spring between end of cruise cable and attachment point on accelerator pedal.
I found the installation manual for it and it indicates I can attach speed sensor wires to back of speedometer head.
GMC h8h 649#028 (4905)
Pennsylvania-central