Author Topic: Another full timing thread  (Read 7045 times)

Offline Branderson

• Retired Army, 1974 MCI8, 6V92
Another full timing thread
« on: June 18, 2018, 08:44:32 AM »
Well, I'm feeling deflated.

I'm still a newb but I've expressed before that wife and I are exploring the idea of full timing in the future.  We just got back from a weeks vacation at myrtle beach and I'm starting to question if full timing is for us.

The first issue is driving.  From where I live, it's about 460 miles each way.  I figured okay, let's break that up into two days.  I went about 350 miles before we stopped.  I was drained.  Had two areas that went down to one lane b/c of construction and Columbia SC is a bitch to drive thru.  I'm starting to think that I don't want to drive over 300 miles a day.  The other stressful part is worrying about everyone around me especially in front of me.  I'm so heavy, I'm paranoid I won't have enough room to break in time.  Hills are a pain in the @$# too but I try to gain speed prior so it's not as bad but I still need more experience in that b/c sometimes it caught me by surprise.  18 wheelers aren't too bad except for at one point, he started to cross into my lane and I shifted right and there was a car there.  That got my heart rate up. 

Issues - I didn't have any issues going there except the campground was really tight but I got in.  The only real stress as you may know was the cpl weeks leading up to the vacation where I had the house battery issues.  If you read my blank tank issue the other day, that wasn't a big issue, in fact you guys would probably laugh at that being an issue but I guess the stressor is when something is wrong and being ignorant of what the problem is.  Although I learned.