Author Topic: Lawn Art's New Engine  (Read 2351 times)

Offline siberyd

Lawn Art's New Engine
« on: January 17, 2022, 09:37:31 AM »
Good news, Lawn Art's engine rebuild is complete and we will probably get her home this month.

Back in October of 2020 we blew a lower radiator hose and cracked the head. When we got it to the shop and they pulled the head, they found catastrophic damage to the block. There was a gouge between between a few cylinders. The last mechanic that worked on the bus reseated the piston sleeves above the top of the block to make a bandaid seal.

We chose to do it right, it's our retirement ride so we started with another block. Our mechanic Dusty at J&R Diesel in Riverside, CA built us a beautiful new engine. It runs as good as it looks.

I am not a mechanic, so any work above my ability level get done by a professional.  I have found it is cheaper for my wallet in the long run.

Lawn Art's first official outing will be the SoCal Mini Rally in San Dimas, in March.

So if you want to see the bus that started the GM Survivor's List project, it will be there.

Siberyd
1957 PD 4104-2240 Lawn Art

Offline richard5933

Re: Lawn Art's New Engine
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2022, 11:26:14 AM »
Wow - now there is some actual art in the back end of Lawn Art. That looks great. Many safe and happy miles to you!
Richard
1974 GMC P8M4108a-125 Custom Coach "Land Cruiser" (Sold)
1964 GM PD4106-2412 (Former Bus)
1994 Airstream Excella 25-ft w/ 1999 Suburban 2500
Located in beautiful Wisconsin

Offline siberyd

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2022, 11:45:55 AM »
Thanks

Offline dtcerrato

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2022, 03:20:36 PM »
Congratulations Jon! The engine looks and we're sure it runs great!
We have less than 15000 on our rebuild and just love it and the pep it has after driving it many years with a tired engine.
You have a unique bond with your 4104 & we admire that as we do the same. Enjoy your future years in a young old bus.  :)
Dan & Sandy