Author Topic: Inverter vs charger  (Read 13840 times)

Offline gus

Re: Inverter vs charger
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2006, 12:57:05 PM »
NCBob,

I'm no gen expert, I'm just going by what my gas Onan Instruction Book says "There is a small charging amperage produced by the flywheel alternator at all times. Never run the generator without a battery hooked to the starter".

Pretty plain to me. Makes sense since no alternator should be operated with no load. It's also pretty plain that the generator engine needs an ignition source.

Since, unlike automotive alternators, it has a permanent magnet field so it produces power all the time.

When I had it hooked directly to my starter bank it did all kinds of crazy things to my bus alternator.

I'm pretty sure that any alternator used to produce DC uses a rectifier, don't know of any other way to get DC from AC.
PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR

Offline Chuck Newman

« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2006, 01:07:30 PM »
Great programs for us geeks.  Reasonable prices.

Thanks Steve.

Chuck
1989 MCI 102A3, Series 50, DDEC III, Allison 740D

El-Sonador

« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2006, 02:09:31 PM »
Great programs for us geeks. Reasonable prices.

Thanks Steve.

Chuck

If you, or others, decide to get one of these programs and need help getting acquainted with it, just let me know. I'm not an expert, but I have used this system constantly for the last four years...

Steve

NCbob

« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2006, 04:05:34 AM »